Norwood principal wins BCPS award
Wednesday, 07 May 2014 12:45

Goldys named Principal of the Year

by Nicole Rodman
    Pat Goldys, principal of Norwood STEM Program, says she was stunned to hear her name announced as Baltimore County Public Schools’ (BCPS) Principal of the Year.
    Goldys was honored at  a ceremony held at Loch Raven High School in Towson on Monday.
    “There are very few opportunities to surprise me, and they did,” Goldys laughingly told The Eagle on Tuesday.
    “I was extremely honored,” she added.
    According to BCPS superintendent Dr. Dallas Dance, it was Goldys’ “enthusiasm” that contributed to her being named Principal of the Year.   
    “Just walking through her school gives you a sense of the focus, dedication and joy in learning that goes on every day at Norwood Elementary School thanks to Pat’s leadership and vision,” Dance said in a statement.   
    Goldys knew from an early age that she wanted to be an educator.
    A graduate of Towson University, she began her career in 1980 as a teacher at Sandy Plains Elementary School.
    She served as principal of Villa Cresta Elementary School in Parkville from 1995 to 2004 before coming to Norwood in 2004.

In her 10 years at Norwood, Goldys has overseen a number of changes, most recently the school’s merger with Holabird Middle  School and Eastwood Elementary Magnet School last fall.
    While she is excited and honored to be named Principal of the Year, Goldys is quick to acknowledge her fellow BCPS principals.
    “Baltimore County has so many amazing principals,” Goldys explained.
    “The Baltimore County principals are amazing; I have learned from them.”
    Along with Goldys, finalists for the BCPS Principal of the Year award included Barbara McLennan of Dundalk Elementary School, Doug Elmendorf of Chase Elementary School, Andrew Last of Hereford High School and Sam Mustipher of New Town High School.
    Monday’s ceremony also included the announcement of Gunpowder Elementary School fifth-grade teacher Anne Cross as Baltimore County Teacher of the Year.
    Last year’s Baltimore County Teacher of the Year, Sean McComb, was named 2014 National Teacher of the Year last week.