essay winners

Pictured, from left to right: VFW Post 2678 Commander John Frado, District 14 Auxiliary President Jo Ann Bush, Patriot’s Pen winner Joslynn Metz, District 14 VFW Junior Vice-Commander Jimmy Lopez, District 14 Commander Ed Wisniewski, and Auxiliary 2678 President Linda Henderson.

On Jan. 12, Gunpowder VFW Post 10067 in Middle River hosted District 14’s Patriot’s Pen and Voice of Democracy Awards Program. Middle and high school student winners from five VFW Posts – Essex, Wells-McComas, Charles Evering, Parkville, and Gunpowder – competed for the opportunity to advance to the state competition in Easton on Jan. 26.

The state winner is awarded an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. for four days in March where the national winner is announced.

Wells-McComas VFW Post and Auxiliary’s contestant, Joslynn B. Metz, was awarded first place in the Patriot’s Pen contest. Joslynn attends Sparrows Point Middle School. The Edgemere VFW’s winner of the Voice of Democracy contest was Mason Ciarpella, a student at Sparrows Point High School. Mason was awarded Honorable Mention in the District judging. The theme of both contests was “What Makes America Great.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.