Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group honors essay winners

The Turner Station Heritage Foundation Committee presented its 21st Black History Celebration on Feb. 25, 2018 at Greater St. John Baptist Church in Turner Station. During the celebration, winners of the 5th Annual Henrietta Lacks Essay Contest, sponsored by the Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group, were recognized. Winners in the middle school competition included Brooke Strauss (first), Pine Grove Middle School, James Fields (second), Mount Washington School, Ronald Johnson (third), Mount Washington School and Kennedy Jackson (honorable mention), Mount Washington School. High school winners included Chika Chima (first), Eastern Technical High School, Kiet Nguyen (second), Enzinne Onyedum (third), Eastern Technical High School, Zachary Wells (honorable mention), Eastern Technical High School and Mia Lara (honorable mention), Henrietta Lacks Health and Bioscience High School. The winner of the video competition was Isabella Holcombe of Eastern Technical High School.

DUNDALK — The Turner Station Heritage Foundation will be presenting its 22nd Black History Celebration on Sunday, February 24, 2019 at Mt. Olive Baptist Church from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. Our theme is “A Blast from the Past: Part 2,” a sports tribute to Osceola Smith and Pierce Jones, Sr. It is also a recognition of the various team sports that were played in Turner Station.

The program will also feature Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group 6th Annual Essay and Video Completion for High School, Middle School and Special Needs Students. For additional information, please contact Courtney Speed at 410-340-4888.

This year’s competition featured over 200 submissions from schools across Maryland, Pennsylvania and Ohio. “We received a record number of amazing submissions,” said Dr. Adele Newson-Horst. “Our judges were unanimous in suggesting that theirs was an extremely difficult task given the sheer number of outstanding submissions.”

The competition typically recieves submissions from students at Henrietta Lacks Health and Bioscience High School in Vancouver, Washington. Of the quality of submissions, contest judge Prof. E. Blaise DePaolo said, “This was a challenge! There were so many wonderful entries.”

Sponsored by the Johns Hopkins Medicine, the Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group (HLLG) invites submissions to its Annual Essay and Video Competition.

“This is what we found,” said Newson-Horst. “The best essays (high school) and letters (middle school) reflected not only accurate information about Mrs. Lacks’ story, but a thoughtful interrogation of ideas and the definite presence of voice. The authors of the winning submissions had something important to say and communicated it in the pages of their manuscripts forcefully and often creatively. I am myself a professor of English, and I don’t know when I enjoyed reading submissions as much as I have this year!”

So impressed was the Board of Directors of the Henrietta Lacks Legacy Group that they authorized a record number of Honorable Mention Awards.

In the event of inclement weather, this weekend’s event will be held on March 3, 2019, same time and place.

And the winners are...

High School

First Place: Mary Kumcheva, Eastern Technical High School

Second Place: Adam Elyounsi, Eastern Technical High School

Third Place: May Robeyko, Eastern Technical High School

Middle School

First Place: Joshua Adams, Southampton Middle School

Second Place: Lucinda Hobson, Mount Washington Middle School and Abby Mangan, Octorara Jr. Sr. High School, Atglen, PA

Third Place: Abdul’l-Karim Nash, Mount Washington School

Special Needs

First Place: DeSean Dennis, Claremont High School

Second Place: Lashawn Gallatin, Claremont High School

Third Place: Rashad Foster, Claremont High School

Honorable Mention (High School)

Alaina Davis, Octorara Area High School, Atglen, PA

Tristen Bryce Stallworth, Eastern Technical High School

Kieran Bethke, Eastern Technical High School

Jay’na Johnson, Eastern Technical High School

Sydney Gosnell, Eastern Technical High School

Fiona Tolentino, Eastern Technical High School

Mikiya Skywalker, Dundalk High School

Tiffany Thomas, Eastern Technical High School

Samantha Klekner, Olentangy Liberty High School

Brenda Jenkins, Claremont High School

Honorable Mention (Middle School)

Michael Koch, Southampton Middle School

Alexandra Crimi Octorara Jr. Sr. High School, Atglen, PA

Nicholas Ryan Anderson, Southampton Middle School, Bel Air, MD