An impressive 268 Baltimore County Public Schools students placed in the top 10 in their respective events at the 2020 Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Regional Conference, which was held online throughout January.

Twelve BCPS schools participated in the conference this year: Catonsville High, Chesapeake High, Dulaney High, Eastern Technical High, Hereford High, Loch Raven High, New Town High, Patapsco High, Perry Hall High, Pikesville High, Sparrows Point High, and Woodlawn High.

Students participated in a variety of individual and team events in business, computer science, and leadership. Events took the form of online, objective-based tests, taped/pre-made presentations, and interactive meetings with judges from various business and industry fields. Students placing in the top five for the objective events or the top three in the performance events at regionals may move on to compete at the state level.

The following BCPS students are top 10 winners:

School Students Place Name

Accounting I

1st – Leslie Mbiakop Alienou, Chesapeake High School

2nd — Alex Dediu, Dulaney High School

3rd — Ethan Hall, Eastern Technical High School

4th – Kayla Nieberlein, Hereford High School

5th – Journey Fistek, Sparrows Point High School

Introduction to Financial Math

1st — Zarin Mahmud, Dulaney High School

2nd — Brendan Maglaqui, Patapsco High School

3rd — Ronit Shah, Eastern Technical High School

4th — Cadence Scott, Eastern Technical High School

5th — Oluwasikemi Opaleke, Chesapeake High School

Job Interview

1st — Payton Goldsmith, Pikesville High School

2nd — Maxwell Gorodiskiy, Pikesville High School

3rd — Angel Starks, Patapsco High School

4th — Richard Lee, Dulaney High School

5th — Jahvonte McNeill, New Town High School

Parliamentary Procedure

1st --Noah Gardner; Zachary Haines; Caitlyn Matheny; Joel Robinson, Sparrows Point High School

Personal Finance

1st — Ryan Eldh, Eastern Technical High School

3rd — Noah Reagle, Sparrows Point High School

4th — Sarah Earp, Hereford High School

5th — Cori Elekwachi, Patapsco High School

6th — Chinedu Chukwu, Chesapeake High School

Public Speaking

1st — Richard Obi, Chesapeake High School

2nd — Oluwamayowa Dipe, Chesapeake High School

3rd — Meghan Thomas, Eastern Technical High School

4th — Amazing Babatunde, Eastern Technical High School

5th — Lynelle Martin, Eastern Technical High School

6th — Garrick Gibson, New Town High School

7th — Andrew Fiorilo, Chesapeake High School

8th — Ariyan Sajid, Eastern Technical High School

9th — Phoebe Sayles, Sparrows Point High School

10th — Tahreem Rana, Woodlawn High School

Publication Design

1st — Fabian Morales, Eastern Technical High School

Spreadsheet Applications

1st — Dominik Blaho, Eastern Technical High School

2nd — Vivian Yang, Sparrows Point High School

Supply Chain Management

1st — Andre Dabrowski, Pikesville High School

2nd — Zuzanna Szylow, Eastern Technical High School

3rd — Ashley Gerbes, Eastern Technical High School

4th — Lainey Davis, Chesapeake High School

5th — Faith Everett, Patapsco High School

6th — Mikaila Chua, Eastern Technical High School

Word Processing

1st — Jolin Yang, Sparrows Point High School